Bosna Gold

Standard

You Are Invited To:

WHO:

Ashley

WHERE:

Bevo / South City

WHEN:

Supper Time!

THE EXPERIENCE:

 I had never had Bosnian food before this meal, however having Czech blood running through my veins, I have had similar cuisine in Czech meals my family has prepared.  I really enjoyed trying out these dishes.

The exterior of Bosna Gold is kind of plain, one might even think it’s not open…the interior is pleasantly airy, unexpectedly clean and well taken care of, not that I expected a dive, it’s just that I suppose I judged this book by its cover and thought it was going to be different. Our waiter was friendly and attentive, I think he made our experience a nice one.  I did make one mistake this go round, I forgot to take a picture of the menu, which means I have no idea what 3 out of 4 of these dishes are actually called, and I can’t look it up on their website, since they don’t have one.  Boo.

 

This is what I ordered – Chicken & Peppers

Ashley’s Rating:

Fabulous – I loved that is was just chicken, red peppers and some sort of tasty sauce.  A large basket of soft bread was included and was awesome, I love dipping bread in sauces!

J.D. ordered – Veal & Mushrooms

Ashley’s Rating:

Fine – I liked this, but didn’t love it enough to get excited.  Thankfully J.D. was willing to share his dish, so I could photograph and write about it.

This I know is called Cevapi, we all shared it, this must be the bread and butter dish, as everyone that writes about Bosnian food recommends this one.

Ashley’s Rating:

Fair – I can live without this again.  I think that this just reaffirms that fact that I don’t love sausage.  I am glad I tried it, you never know, right!!  The bread is really yummy though, I could eat just that next time, it was like a pancake in a strange way!

This is what J.J. ordered – Skewered Sausages

Ashley’s Rating:

Fair – Again, I can live without ever having this again, it’s pretty much the same thing as the Cevapi, just 2 big skewered sausages instead of 10 or so little ones.

COME HUNGRY … DURING THE DAY

One response »

Leave a Reply

