Schlafly Tap Room

Standard

You Are Invited To:

Click pic to link to Schlafly’s web page

WHO:

Ashley

WHERE:

Downtown

WHEN:

Supper

THE EXPERIENCE:

An industrial setting, slightly dark with all the wood and brick, but well-lit with lighting and gigantic windows, so don’t worry you will be able to see where you are going.  The service has consistently been good, everyone always very friendly.  I have been here several times and have always walked out the door happy with my experience.

 WHAT YOU GET:

Great pub fare served with an earthy flair, fantastic beers and live music (on the weekends).  There are so many good things on this menu that need to be sampled. For instance: pickled herring, beet salad, lamb burgers, coconut curry and pork schnitzel to name a few.  Next time you are looking for a fun place to just sit at a table with friends and chat about the long week you just had or hang out at the bar and sample the different brews.

Beer Bread – with Blue Cream Cheese

 Ashley’s Rating:

Fine – I seem to always order this here, it’s a staple for me. I love to try both spreads and then decide which is my favorite, and I think it changes each time, ’cause I can never remember which it was the last time.  I think, the next time I am in I will request this un-toasted and if I’m feeling especially brave ask for it un-sliced, I want to try it just straight up bread style. I wonder if it will change my world…

Turkey Burger – with guacamole, pepper jack cheese on a ciabatta roll with French Fries

Ashley’s Rating:

Fine – A good solid turkey burger, it was tasty and not dry, the guacamole and pepper jack cheese are a nice compliment to the sammy.  The french fries tasted especially fabulous that day and were seriously the highlight to my plate. To make it even more awesome was a tray of dipping sauces (see further below) and if you know me, you know that I love to dip my little pommes frites in sauce!  

Daily Special – this particular day was BBQ Pork Medallions (I believe)

Ashley’s Rating:

Fabulous – The meat was sooo tender and the veggies so flavorful and the sauce was fantastic. I totally recommend getting the daily special whatever it is…they know how to knock this stuff outta the park.

Dipping Sauces – Parmesan, Chili Garlic, Spicy Ketchup, Green Peppercorn

Ashley’s Rating:

Fabulous – Now don’t ask me to remember which is my favorite, you are just going to have to go and decide for yourself.

Raspberry Coffee Stout

Ashley’s Rating:

Fabulous – In my humble opinion, a stout is one of the best kinds of beer out there. Coffee Stout is especially good. A certain little brewery in Wisconsin makes a fantastic one, but we are not talking about them today, if you want to research that on your own here is a little hint: it’s sister brew is Spotted Cow.  Back to Schlafly, so to add a hint of raspberry to a coffee stout = pure brilliance. I recommend trying all of their brews, of course, but make sure you cover all of the specialty or seasonal ones as they are offered.

 COME HUNGRY….EAT WELL, THEN DRINK MORE BEER

One response »

  1. I think I would go here simply based on the picture of the perfectly golden fries…with not one but FOUR choices for dipping sauce!?!?!? For real? Makin’ my mouth water!! Love to see all your foodie finds!

Leave a Reply

